The original Ryan Block was completed in 1903, and served a variety of tenants until the early 1990s, after which it was vacant. Sadly, the building suffered a series of fires and water infiltration, and in 2007, it was deemed structurally unstable. Because of the historical significance of the building, the City of Winnipeg, together with Bedford Investments and Dominion Construction, embarked on an ambitious project to save the building façade. After Crosier Kilgour & Partners Ltd. investigated various stabilization proposals, it was decided that the original Ryan Building would be deconstructed and the exterior brick and tyndall stone details would be painstakingly recorded and re-built as an integral component of the new Bedford Parkade and Retail Development. New phototelemetric scanning technology was used to produce a digital record of the original building to facilitate one of the largest façade reconstructions in Winnipeg history. This innovative project will provide enduring benefits to Winnipeg’s downtown Exchange District, while maintaining and complementing the aesthetic character of the area.